The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-14-2007, 09:37 PM

Surfin the Susquehanna is on a distinguished road
Default Fall Lake Fishing for Trout

I just went to the lake I dock my boat at to take it out of the water today. It's not a fishing boat, it's a recreational boat. As I was bringing it over to the public launch to load it up on the trailer, I saw 5 or 6 guys shore fishing, and noticed more boats on the lake than I ever would have imagined in October. It hit me that they just stocked the lake on Friday with trout. As I brought the boat near the dock, I saw several fish jumping literally out of the water. Some looked like some good size trout. As many of you know, I am new to fly fishing, and I have pretty much fished for bass since I got it. Can anyone offer any suggestions on how I can catch these fish on my fly rod? What type of fly do I use? Nymph, Dry, Streamer? Looked like most of the people fishing were using live bait and bobber. I just assume slit my wrist than bobber fish. One older guy that I talked to briefly had some kind of crazy rig with a clear float and 3 flies dropped behind it on a spinning reel setup. He said he didn't have any luck today, but yesterday with the same rig he caught about 10-15 fish in 2 hours. The lake I refer to is Harvey's Lake in northeast PA.
Old 10-14-2007, 11:26 PM

OregonStreams is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Fall Lake Fishing for Trout

Quote:
Originally Posted by Surfin the Susquehanna View Post
Can anyone offer any suggestions on how I can catch these fish on my fly rod?