The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2007, 10:17 PM

Surfin the Susquehanna is on a distinguished road
Default I found my second Rod/Line

I found a St Croix Reign 8ft 4wt 4 piece for $112. regular is $150 so I see it as a deal. I need to buy some 4wt line. I am all over the board here. Keep in mind I'm a beginner. My 6wt rod has Cortland 333 WF line which I could get for $30 in the 4wt variety. I am also looking at maybe spending some extra $$ on better line. My question is this... what are the advantages to spending $60 on line? Will it cast better for a beginner? Or is it like buying a $400 dollar driver as beginning golfer and expecting to hit it 300 yards down the middle?
Old 10-23-2007, 07:45 AM

burns is on a distinguished road
Default Re: I found my second Rod/Line

Surfin,

I don't know the answer to your question - but I love the golf analogy. I worked as a PGA Apprentice at a big course for a little over a year and I know exactly what you mean. You see guys out there who can barely make contact, walk in the pro shop and purchase drivers for $300-$400 thinking it's going to make them bomb it like a pro.

One thing to consider - with a DT (double taper) line, after the line wears out from use, you can literally turn it around and use the other end and get twice the line life for your dollar. I have a DT on my 2-weight and my next line for my 4-weight will likely be a DT. I will be likely to buy a nicer (more expensive) line, knowing I'll get more use out of it than a WF.

From what I understand, modern, good quality DT lines are comparable to WF lines in terms of castability. DT may have a slight edge in roll casting and delicacy of presentation. WF may have a slight advantage in distance.