The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree8Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2012, 10:59 AM

greenvalley is on a distinguished road
Default Lake Shasta Area - McCloud River or Upper Sac

April 2012 - Hello Trout Lovers!

My wife and I are headed up to the Shasta area around July 17, 2012. We have never been to the area and will be camping in a 23ft rv travel trailer. I am a newbie to fly fishing and did a little fly fishing in the small streams in Rock Mountain Nat Park last year. Does anyone know the fishing conditions around late July in this area around Shasta.
Is there somewhat easy access to the Upper Sac or (little??) rivers in the area like the McCloud. Meaning, if I have 2 hours to kill, can I park off the road and not have to walk more than a half-mile to find catch-and-release trout water?
We are aslo looking for a quiet/scenic campsite that could fit our 23 foot rv.
Thanks to all!
Old 04-16-2012, 11:16 AM

dhayden is a splendid one to beholddhayden is a splendid one to beholddhayden is a splendid one to beholddhayden is a splendid one to beholddhayden is a splendid one to beholddhayden is a splendid one to beholddhayden is a splendid one to beholddhayden is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Lake Shasta Area - McCloud River or Upper Sac

There's great public access to the Upper Sac.. some a little harder to find than others

The Fly Shop in Redding, among others, used to have a nice map that would show all the public access points. It was called "Your Guide to Outdoor Family Recreation on the Upper Sacramento River".. by Cantera Trustee Council.. I think it was created after the spill