The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2012, 10:07 PM

bassguitarplayer has a spectacular aura aboutbassguitarplayer has a spectacular aura aboutbassguitarplayer has a spectacular aura about
Default Noobie dumb question

Hey everyone,

First time here at the forum. So... Hi!! I've poked around a bit looking for some answers to my questions but the info on this forum is pretty overwhelming.

I'm a Colorado native and for the first 36 years of my life I never fly fished.

So, I'm pretty new to fly fishing. I've gone only a handful of times. I've been fishing the rivers here in Colorado and really love it. It's amazing spending time in the mountains, and t's a very zen activity.

Problem is, I haven't caught a fish yet. I've had a few bites and even came close to landing one but... that's it. So here's my dumb question that probably has no good answer and has probably been asked a zillion times already; how long does it take to get at least somewhat decent enough to catch a fish?

I've got a pretty cheap rod... like, really cheap, (one of those Martin all-in-one things for $70) but I'm too broke right now to get a decent one. I've practiced my casting in the yard and I think I'm pretty good at it. I still get the line splashing down kinda hard a lot of times. Am I scaring the fish?

I've studied up on mayflies, caddies, and stoneflies. But I have no idea when to use what.

So, I guess if you all have any suggestions or tips on how to get better I'd sure love to hear them.

Again, thanks putting up with my dumb noobie question.
Old 04-24-2012, 10:17 PM