The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2007, 11:43 PM

NewFlyFisher is on a distinguished road
Default Clarification/Recommendations on Sinking Line

As I have mentioned in another thread, I am fairly new at this sport. To date my experience is in using only floating line. I have, however, realized that to have success on some of the lakes/ponds or fast moving water on those days when the fish are feeding deeper, I am going to have to get my line down. From here is the confusion:

I have seen an endless number of products/methods to make this happen. To mention a few:
- Full sinking line
- Sinking tip lines (10 ft. or 30 ft or 24 ft tapered or.....heads)
- Tungsten leaders (10 ft or 15 ft or)
- Sink putty
- Weights
- Streamer line ???
- Shooting head
- etc.

To start with, I am planning to follow a plan that was put forward by fffg on another thread stating......"I second the add on sink tip.. Rio i think makes a 12 foot tip with ends that you put on yourself... that part is a pain.. but about 4-6 foot will make an execent starter add on sink tip.. youll need to leave enough room on the end of the reel to put it on, you dont need another spool, just put it on your dry line that you have, and take it off and putt in you kit/vest when not using it.. You can make a 4 foot and 8 foot sink tip out of the 12 foot line, but 8 foot would be too heavy for the 5 wt.. I have a 6 wt tfo pro that i use for backup when im having trouble or repairs with my z axis 6 wt.. It works just fine,.... dave..
In this way, I see being able to start with a minimum investment (using the same line and reel that I have on) and work my way from there.