The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree8Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-07-2012, 08:52 PM

colin272 is on a distinguished road
Default why do you fly fish

why do you fly fish? a question i have been asked many times and my responses have differed. everything from i catch more fish to its more of a challenge, and every time i have had someone come back with a response from you catch smaller fish to its not really that hard. to set the scene, i am 22 i am a husband and a soon to be father my wife is six months pregnant i am an EMT and volunteer fire fighter, i am also finishing up getting my paramedic license. so i have been working my normal schedual which is 24 on 48 off then i am also do ride time on my days off then when i am home im going to dr appointments and running extra calls and doing training for my fire department. i also haven't had more then 6 hours off. so today i was off for all 24 hours and after doing my duties as a husband i was able to slip out of the house for an hour to fish as i was walking down to the lake to fish i had a million ideas running through my head about the bad calls i had had at work, how to be more supportive husband, ext. As i started fishing everything slipped away i was focused on my cast. I didn't keep track of fish size or number. all i know is that it was a good night i think i spent more time taking fish off then casting. anyway get back on track i realized that why i fish is probably why some people drink or do drugs its to just fade away and become and become one with nature which i know is corny to say but it is really how i feel. so now i feel relaxed and ready to handle life again. well its back to work for me tomorrow. i hope that everyone gets a chance to have an experience like this.