The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2012, 08:52 PM

bassguitarplayer has a spectacular aura aboutbassguitarplayer has a spectacular aura aboutbassguitarplayer has a spectacular aura about
Default Anyone ever have this kind of day?

Hey guys,

I'm a super noob... not much experience yet.

Last week I posted saying that I thought I finally dialed it all in. I had a great day of fishing using my knowledge of the bugs to find the right fly in the right feeding lie to get the fish.

Today... just nothing. My initial investigation of the river showed mayfly crawlers, mayfly nymphs, and mayfly spinners. I tried all three, plus some stoneflies, some caddis nymphs, and midge larvae. The only action I got all day was a bite on the caddis nymph but the trout took the fly before I could land it.

I managed to snag my ENTIRE leader in a rock and lost all but two feet from the line.

At one point I slipped on a rock and took a nice dunk into the stream head first.

Some jerk let his dog loose in the river and scared away about 4 fish I was working on catching.

So to sum up:
Didn't catch a thing
Got soaked
Lost about 3 flies, my leader, and a Thingamabobber.
Cursed out an idiot with a dog.

Still had fun and can't wait to get back to the river.

Here's my question. Even though the river bugs seemed to point to what those dang trout would be eating, they didn't take them. Does this just sort of happen sometimes or am I missing something?
Old 05-09-2012, 09:02 PM

two_nymph_rig is a glorious beacon of lighttwo_nymph_rig is a glorious beacon of lighttwo_nymph_rig is a glorious beacon of lighttwo_nymph_rig is a glorious beacon of lighttwo_nymph_rig is a glorious beacon of light