Rod cases

roejankill

Reaction score
After searching 15 pages of gear related threads and not finding the answer that suits me, I'll try here.

I'm a beginner with a 6wt. 9' two piece rod.
I would like a case for it.

Which do you prefer?
Aluminum tube, cordura-pvc or the rod reel combo case.

Of course I want to do everything with it. Hike, air travel, etc.
How many of you keep the rod lined(rigged?) in the rod reel case.

Allen, SA, Cabella, Orvis, Filson?

Thanks.

L

Liphookedau

I have many different ones mainly which have come with the Rods :Talon,Loomis,TFO,Stalker,Powell & Sage Tubes in Aluminium & Cordura,plus 2 Sage which will also take The Reels as well as a few made from Poly mainly for just throwing into a Vehicle to travel.
It doesn't what you use travelling on planes unless you either pack it or carry it you can bet it will be damaged
Brian

MoscaPescador

Reaction score
Two piece rods are not very air travel friendly. That kind of explains why four piece rods rule the market.

I pack my rod on how I am going to travel.

Car: Most of the time, I just use the tube that the rod came in. Sometimes I use a double rod/reel case that is made for two piece rods. Since my rods are four piece models, I only have one joint unferruled.

Plane: I have an old G Loomis rolling bag that has three built in rod tubes. If I need to carry more than three rods, I can fit standard sized rod tubes in the main compartment.

Backpacking: I just use the tube that the rod came with.

I rarely keep my rods rigged in the rod/reel case.

Dennis

silver creek

Reaction score
I would get two rod cases. One is for travel and holds 3 to 4 4pc fly rods. This is a DB Dunn but you can DIY with PVC.