The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2007, 04:36 AM

tippet will become famous soon enough
Default Going to give it a try....

..trout fishing that is. I have some experience with fly fishing for stripers/blues, mostly off the back of a boat casting into the rips. Fortunately or may be unfortunately it doesn't take a lot of casting skills. Being that I don't live on the ocean but do have access to some good trout fishing I'm going to try my patience.
For the most part I’m looking at stock fish in the 10-18” range. The two rivers I’m thinking about are mid-size (whatever that means) with plenty of room to cast. That said I’m sure my line will find every overhanging branch. On occasion I’d also like to try another river that offers some smallmouth fishing.
So my question is whether or not a 6wt is overkill. I happen to have an Orvis 6wt (allrounder?) and a battenkill reel.
Thanks for any advise!
Old 12-03-2007, 08:31 AM
Administrator

Frank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Skype™ to Frank Whiton
Default Re: Going to give it a try....

Hi tippet,

Welcome to the forum. Looking forward to your post.