The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-25-2012, 09:28 PM

usaalways is on a distinguished road
Default Planning trip to Missoula, MT

Hello folks!
Easterner here planning to spend a few days in Missoula at end of august. I am interested in experiencing fly fishing as I have never done it before. My only fishing experience is deep sea fishing on party boats off New Jersey coast.
My first question is- i see that day tours i google searched from shops in Missoula run between $400- $500(before gratutity, ect.). Is that the norm? I do not want to offend anyone if it is. Like I said i am inexperienced with this. Plus since I have zero expereince is it worth it for me? Can these kinds of tours be beneficial, or are there other ways for the inexpereinced? Also, is it allowed to keep what is caught for consumption?
Thanx folks!
Todd
Old 05-25-2012, 10:17 PM

fishordie is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Planning trip to Missoula, MT

Yo Todd,

Those prices are absolutely correct for the area. Let me know which guides you are thinking of as I can recommend some great ones. I have been fishing Mis. for a long time. You are going to love it. Keeping fish in Missoula fly fishing is a bit rough. We tend to practice Catch and Release but ask when you book your guide as many will cook up a few for you right on the river. However, I am not sure a stringer would be very much appreciated.

Jamie

Quote:
Originally Posted by usaalways View Post
Hello folks!
Easterner here planning to spend a few days in Missoula at end of august. I am interested in experiencing fly fishing as I have never done it before. My only fishing experience is deep sea fishing on party boats off New Jersey coast.