The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2012, 09:06 PM

skeet190zx is on a distinguished road
Default New to Fly fishing, I need help

Hello,

I am new to all this, I just picked up a fly rod for the first time last weekend. I am interested in getting a good fly rod... probably a 9ft. 6wt..... but I just thought I would see what people recommend for a good fly rod that will last me a long time...I don't really want to go over $250 on a rod. Any suggestions would be appreciated... thanks..
Old 06-09-2012, 11:18 PM

Vans has much to be proud ofVans has much to be proud ofVans has much to be proud ofVans has much to be proud ofVans has much to be proud ofVans has much to be proud ofVans has much to be proud ofVans has much to be proud of
Default Re: New to Fly fishing, I need help

It probably isnt a good idea to get a high end rod for your very first fly rod. Need to make sure fly fishing "sticks" with you before you drop $700+ on a rod.

I would recommend either a Echo or Redington rod as a starter. You can get good rod reel set up for under $300 from each. If you really want to save more you can find cheaper by both brands.

My biggest piece of advice would be to find a certified casting instructor from a fly shop and take a lesson or two. It will save you a lot of time and get you into fish all the sooner. Orvis shops offer a free casting lesson if you have one near.
Old 06-09-2012, 11:26 PM

streamwalker has a spectacular aura aboutstreamwalker has a spectacular aura about