The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2012, 09:14 AM

wabi is just really nicewabi is just really nicewabi is just really nicewabi is just really nicewabi is just really nice
Default not fly fishing but.....

I thought I'd share it anyway.

Yesterday was one of those days when work had me really worn down. I'm a plumber, but was an electrician many years ago (around here both trades used to be frequently combined) and still do a few small jobs for some of my best residential customers. (legal under Ohio's & local regulations)

Well, yesterday I had a good customer ask me if I could hang a ceiling light for them while I was there. It turned into a 2-3 hour endurance test (of my legs & back) on a step ladder. Had to reinforce the ceiling box mounting to hold the light fixture (turned out to be a chandelier ), then they wanted the light I replaced hung in another room.

By yesterday evening I just didn't feel like casting a fly rod, so I substituted a baitcast outfit and a folding lawn chair for my evening outing.
Trying to catch a large channel cat for a recipe I recently read (stuffed - baked catfish) that just sounded good to me.

Didn't get the catfish I wanted (caught & released a few smaller - under 3# - ones) but I did manage to hook a big snapping turtle!
It was so big I couldn't lift it with the rod I was using (8'6" Shakespeare Ugly Stik salmon/steelhead rod) and it was in a bad mood once I drug it into the shallow water along the bank. I'm guessing 20-25 pounds!
Unfortunately, turtle season is close here at the moment.
Fortunately, I was able to release it unharmed (but still in a very unfriendly mood).
Old 06-16-2012, 09:24 AM