The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2007, 08:02 PM

skey000 is on a distinguished road
Default Newbie to fly fishing

I'm new to fly fishing and was looking for a forum to ask some questions as they arose. Y'all seem like a pretty knowledgable bunch so I was hoping to hit you with my ton of questions.

I've used regular spincast reels for years and have been wanting to learn fly fishing for quite a while now.

Hopefully my questions won't be to out there and annoying.

My first one is a personal one that I'm hoping will justify my desire to try out fly fishing.

1. Why do you choose fly fishing over other forms that are considered easier to learn (spin and bait casting)? What are the advantages/disadvantages of one over the other?

Thanks,
Jeremy

P.S. More to come
Old 12-21-2007, 08:16 PM

Fly2Fish is a splendid one to beholdFly2Fish is a splendid one to beholdFly2Fish is a splendid one to beholdFly2Fish is a splendid one to beholdFly2Fish is a splendid one to beholdFly2Fish is a splendid one to beholdFly2Fish is a splendid one to beholdFly2Fish is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Newbie to fly fishing

There will be members far more knowledgeable than I that will answer this better than I can, but speaking for myself as a former spin fisherman that held a local record for Northern Pike, what turned me was the sight of a rainbow in crystal clear water rising and hitting a dry fly I had cast. Can't cast a dry fly in any reasonable manner with a spin rod, so that was my conversion! Plus, trout fly-fishing venues are a hell of a lot more scenic than the reservoirs I used to frequent as a spin caster.
Old 12-22-2007, 07:33 AM