The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2012, 02:23 PM

emailmm100 is on a distinguished road
Default Is there are "middle ground" fly rod and reel that can bridge fresh to salt water

I am new to fly fishing but after one outing I am "hooked". Limited budget is pressing me to see if I can use one rod and reel to accomplish both fresh water and salt. Granted I understand that I would have to change lines and bait flies.

Any thoughts?
Old 06-20-2012, 02:36 PM

gatortransplant has much to be proud ofgatortransplant has much to be proud ofgatortransplant has much to be proud ofgatortransplant has much to be proud ofgatortransplant has much to be proud ofgatortransplant has much to be proud ofgatortransplant has much to be proud ofgatortransplant has much to be proud ofgatortransplant has much to be proud of
Default Re: Is there are "middle ground" fly rod and reel that can bridge fresh to salt water

Depends on what you'll be fishing for in both bodies of water, but I use the Allen Xa series rods in both freshwater and saltwater, and the same goes for both their Trout and Alpha II reels. The price is very acceptable, their customer service and warranty are both great, and the owner of the company, Justin, typically gives great rates to forum members.