The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree1Likes

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-19-2012, 06:02 AM

goblue is on a distinguished road
Default Live bait?

As a newbie, I'm learning much here and have many questions. Here's a couple:

Anybody ever use tiny live or pieces of live baits when fly fishing?

Also, with floating lines is it possible to use wet flies, by adding some sort of weights to push down the line?

Thanks, GB
Old 07-19-2012, 06:11 AM
Administrator

Hardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Yahoo to Hardyreels Send a message via Skype™ to Hardyreels
Default Re: Live bait?

You will take some hits over the bait thing for sure

I fish wets on floating line every time I go fishing, no need to "push the line down". You're gonna do yourself a huge favor if you check at your Public Library to see if they have a copy of, 'Fly Fishing' by Tom McNally. If so check it out and read the book, it will help you to understand so much about this. The book is old (circa 1978) but the information is timeless.

Whatever you do, please stay with us and post your questions. Getting hold of a book like the one I suggested will really help you a bunch but the members here will help you also.

Welcome to the forum,

Ard

Life On The Line - Alaska Fishing with Ard

The Alaska Fishing & Outdoors Blog;