The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2012, 10:00 AM

d3adp0ol is on a distinguished road
Default Help! Snapping leader lines and losing flies

I'm new to the sport, been casting flies for about 3 months now. I got myself started with a Reddington Crosswater 8.5 ft 5wt rod/reel combo and have been honing my skills in the nearby streams and small rivers (I'm in Maryland and have a nice stretch of the Patapsco running right through my backyard). Mostly it's just bluegills and sunfish I pick on, but when I head out to some nearby stocked rivers I get to play with trout. But typically, I'm chasing pretty small game and even when I go after some browns or rainbows I'm not landing anything more then 8 lbs.

The problems started when I had to tie on a new leader line to the RIO Mainstream that came with my rod. Not sure which tapered leader was on there originally, but I put on some RIO powerflex 4x tapered leader. Since then, I've been snapping the line just behind the knot with regularity, losing many flies in the process. Just yesterday, I was targeting my favorite bluegill hole and managed to land 4 of em in the space of an hour, but lost an equal number of flies in the same time. Each time, the leader would snap just behind the knot and another fish would make off with one of my flies.