The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By gatortransplant

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2012, 05:18 PM

wadebinkley is on a distinguished road
Default Equipment Info

I am new to fly fishing, my wife bought me my first flyrod last year for my birthday that is a 8ft 5/6 wt 3 piece Pfleuger Medalist. I mainly fish with poppers for bass and bream.

Do you find that the heavier weight a fly line is the better it will cast or is that solely based on the basters ability?

Is using some 8 pnd test monofilament line okay for a leader?

Anything else that i should know?

I will let you know that i am a "discount" fisherman and don't have enough money to spend $60 on flyline or $6 for a popper so i usually shop where ever the prices are good!

Also on a side note, would you say that a good fly line or a good fly rod is more important?

Thanks,
Daniel
Old 08-06-2012, 08:50 PM

gatortransplant has much to be proud ofgatortransplant has much to be proud ofgatortransplant has much to be proud ofgatortransplant has much to be proud ofgatortransplant has much to be proud ofgatortransplant has much to be proud ofgatortransplant has much to be proud ofgatortransplant has much to be proud ofgatortransplant has much to be proud of
Default Re: Equipment Info

Daniel,

I'll try and answer in the order of the questions: