The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2012, 09:48 AM

tjcbaseball_27 is on a distinguished road
Default Need Advice

I'm new to fly fishing and I am trying to get geared up. I will be doing mostly bass fishing with the occasional trip to Arkansas to do a little trout fishing. I know now that a 6w rod would be a good fit for this. I have been looking at all the different rods and reels and want to get something that will last and be good quality. Ive been looking at the Sage Vantage or the TFO BVK. Have any of you fishing these rods and what would be a good reel to match up on them???
Old 09-07-2012, 11:09 AM
Administrator

mcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Need Advice

You might want to take a look at this thread that is offering Galvan T6 reels for $200, which is a very nice discount on a tremendous reel and Galvan's support for their products is second to none.
http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/fo...els-lines.html

Old 09-07-2012, 08:08 PM

famill00 will become famous soon enough

Go with the BVK. And pair it with a Lamson Konic. You wont be out a ton of money and the drag on that reel will handle any bass you put it up against.

Just my 2 cents,
Forrest
Old 09-07-2012, 10:37 PM