The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2012, 08:37 PM

r reese is just really nicer reese is just really nicer reese is just really nicer reese is just really nicer reese is just really nice
Default Winston WT or Biit

please give me thoughts wanting a new 3 wt rod
Old 09-19-2012, 10:36 PM

comeonavs has a brilliant futurecomeonavs has a brilliant futurecomeonavs has a brilliant futurecomeonavs has a brilliant futurecomeonavs has a brilliant futurecomeonavs has a brilliant futurecomeonavs has a brilliant futurecomeonavs has a brilliant futurecomeonavs has a brilliant futurecomeonavs has a brilliant futurecomeonavs has a brilliant future
Default Re: Winston WT or Biit

I have no experience with Winston WT. My fishing buddy has a BiiT in a 4wt and it is a good rod. I am a Sage guy so I would put it n the TXL range of faster but not to fast like a Z-axis or Sage One.

I just recently picked up a Sage ZXL 3wt so I have the TXL and ZXL 3wt and while they are both awesome the ZXL I like better. It is so soft for laying out dries, protects even 7x tippet when you have to run that light. The TXL is a close competitor but not quite as perfect. The reason I bring up the Sage references is to me remember the reason for a 3wt. Super fine dry fly presentation, casting tiny nypmhs / midges. Therefore I personally prefer the "softer action" in 3wt.

Really both rods you are looking at are cream of the crop rods and you cant go wrong either way. If you already have a 4wt for windy days and fishing heavier rigs then I would recomend the slower/softer of the two which I believe is the WT.
Old 09-19-2012, 11:17 PM