The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-26-2012, 10:40 PM

ryu1er is on a distinguished road
Talking Fly rod and reel suggestions?

HI!
Im new to fly fishing and i was looking for some suggestions. i plan to fish for rainbow trouts, bass, carp, and freshwater stripers; what rod and reel do you suggest? at the moment i own a pflueger rod and reel combo i got from walmart. its 8ft with a 5 wt line
Old 09-26-2012, 10:58 PM
Administrator

Hardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Yahoo to Hardyreels Send a message via Skype™ to Hardyreels
Default Re: Fly rod and reel suggestions?

Welcome to the forum,

Do you believe you've out grown the set that you now have? I ask because there are many possible rod & reel combos for you to consider. If you are able to cast well with the Pflueger that you have now, then an upgrade in rod will be very noticeable. However if you are having a hard time with the cast and are looking for the new rod to turn everything around, you'll still need to work on basics regardless of your rod.

Many of our members like the TFO & the Redington rods. We also have a sponsor here Allen Fly Fishing who sell rods, reels, and everything you may need. The members who use Allen products swear by the quality and love the prices.

Ard

Life On The Line - Alaska Fishing with Ard