The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree9Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-01-2012, 10:09 AM

wizardofaz is on a distinguished road

Greetings!

I'm new to the forum and for the most part new to fly fishing. I have some very minimal experience and own a cheapie Shakespeare rod, but aside from that, have no idea what I'm doing. Growing up in Minnesota with a Father to whom fishing is a religion, I have the love of fishing ingrained in my brain. Now I reside in Arizona, and after three years have decided I need fishing back in my life. I've been reading magazines, some books, watching videos, etc. I think it's time however that I get out and do some actual fishing. I am extremely interested in the world of fly fishing, and would like to give it a try. So here I am, throwing my story out there, in hopes that someone will give me some good advice on how to get started. I already love travel and hiking. Finding myself along trout streams frequently, I think it's time to wet a line and see what fly fishing is all about!

Josh
Old 10-01-2012, 10:20 AM

gatortransplant has much to be proud ofgatortransplant has much to be proud ofgatortransplant has much to be proud ofgatortransplant has much to be proud ofgatortransplant has much to be proud ofgatortransplant has much to be proud ofgatortransplant has much to be proud ofgatortransplant has much to be proud ofgatortransplant has much to be proud of
Default Re: Greetings! New Member / New Fly Fisherman

First of all, welcome!! While fly fishing is a terrible affliction, it's totally worth every minute (except those you spend retying knots, clearing snags, pulling hooks from yourself or others, wondering why the fish refuse to eat what you're offering...)!