The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/general-discussion/)
-   -   Why are reels so expensive and are they worth it? (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/general-discussion/298581-why-reels-so-expensive-they-worth.html)

codypom 10-04-2012 09:53 PM

Why are reels so expensive and are they worth it?

Please forgive me for my ignorance, I am new to fly fishing. I fly fish for LM and SM bass in ponds, small lakes, and a medium size river. I always strip the fish in because that is what I have seen people do on youtube. I also went trout fishing in some small streams and the guide had me strip the fish in. Basically the only purpose my reel has is to hold the line. I understand that in big trout rivers the fish will take off and run, which would pull line off the reel and use the drag. In my situation I don't really see a need to spend $100+ on a reel. What do you all think?

grassonfly 10-04-2012 10:00 PM

Re: Why are reels so expensive and are they worth it?

i have only had probably two or three instances of needing a really good drag. every time the drag failed and i was ok. it sucked but i was ok. thats why i have a new reel now. For bass you dont need a nice drag unless youre using sharkskin line. trout not unless youre using 6x 7x tippet. ive caught 20 pound carp on a click and paw.

caseywise 10-04-2012 10:47 PM

this a great question:)
looking forward to hearing more on this one;)

my short answer is fly reels are like sports cars or luxury watches...do you need the highest end product out there? probably not. but if you want one, it it's available.
trout reels, 2-5 weight are a matter of taste, but 6-12 and higher require a good drag system, with the salt water reels requiring something smooth, but with truck stopping power.