The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2012, 12:29 PM

rockyfly12 is on a distinguished road
Default Which book do you recommend?

Im pretty new to fly fishing, but i've become pretty obsessed. I want to expand my knowledge of the sport. Firstly, I would like to know which book you guys would recommend:

Presentation by Gary A. Borger
or
Presenting the Fly: A Practical Guide to the Most Important Element of Fly Fishing by Lefty Kreh

both are in my local library and I plan to check one of them out for awhile.

Thanks!
Old 10-07-2012, 01:10 PM

williamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Which book do you recommend?

First of all, welcome!

I haven't read either of those books but why make it an either/or? Just check them both out. Also don't forget inter-library loan. In Michigan I was able to check out books from all over the state, and here in Colorado I can get them from some of the surrounding states as well.

Books that I read where, Orvis Guide to Fly Fishing and Guide to Small Stream Fly Fishing, as well Prospecting for Trout and Reading Trout Streams. Beyond that, this forum, other info on the web, and youtube videos were very helpful. I'm sure others will have some good recommendations.
Guest1 and shotgunfly like this.
Old 10-07-2012, 01:27 PM