The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree7Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2012, 03:51 PM

rockyfly12 is on a distinguished road
Default Nymph Fishing stillwater

Hello all,

Im pretty new to fly fishing. I probably have around 15-20 days on the water so far now, all fished in rivers. This friday an sunday, I plan on fishing one of the lakes on Pikes Peak. I've never fly fished still water before, which brings me to my question. What kind of setup should I use for stillwater nymphing. Ill be fishing from shore both days. Usually when I nymph I use a thingamabobber for an indicator and a double nymph setup along with a weight. Im not the greatest at nymph fishing either. I've caught way more fish on dries. But thats not to say that I dont want to improve! So what kind of rig and methods do you use while stillwater nymph fishing? Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Old 10-10-2012, 05:07 PM

double dry is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Nymph Fishing stillwater

RK12,

Although you can certainly nymph stillwater, you might be better served to run a large dry fly and drop a couple of bugs down below it. Maybe a hopper, beetle or similar dry, and about 18-24" drop your first nymph, maybe a damsel nymph. Below the damsel (10" or so) you can tie a chironomid or the like.

If you are dead set on straight nymphing, I'd try to decide the depth of the weedline and work to put my nymphs just above the weeds. Watch for cruising fish, and how they are eating and adjust up from there.

I haven't fished a lake this late in the year in a long time. I'm sure others will chime in to help out with bug selection.

Have fun.
Old 10-10-2012, 05:35 PM

flytyingcompany is on a distinguished road