The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2008, 11:29 PM

troutguy07 is on a distinguished road
Default new into the sport

hey guys i am new to the sport of fly fishing and i was wondering if you guys could help me out. i have been looking at a couple of different rod and reel combos at bass pro but i cant figure out which one would be good for me. i am going to be doing alot of trout fishing with occasionally some bass. the guy told me that i would need a 6w rod about 9' or so long and a decent reel. what do you recommend? thanks
Old 01-07-2008, 01:24 AM
Super Moderator

fyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: new into the sport

Well how much do you want to spend? If you have an open wallet then we can certainly help you out.
Anyway, what kinda funds ya got?

What other equipment do you have?

*Comments posted above are only my opinion. I may be right....ehhh.....I'm certain they're wrong. Take 'em for what they're worth.*

Old 01-07-2008, 06:04 AM

well i was looking at the redington rod and reel combo and its was only $100-125. i was hoping to stay under that for just starting out and all. what would you recommend? thanks
Old 01-07-2008, 10:00 AM
Super Moderator