The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree8Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-16-2012, 01:04 PM

chefdg is on a distinguished road
Default Spend extra money on waders, or put money towards new rod?

Hey everyone. I am new to the forum, but I have been lurking quite awhile. So first let me say sorry for asking another question about waders.

I am relatively new to fly fishing and mostly have waded warm water creeks/rivers searching out smallies. However, I am going to the Smokies for a week in November and fishing in shorts isn't going to cut it. And now that the water around home is cooling down, the temps aren't as inviting.

I have been looking into the new Orvis Sonic Seam waders for $259. I have also been looking into other brands (Cabela's mostly) for about $100 less in price. This will be my first pair of waders so I am wondering if I will know what I am missing by going with a less expensive pair. The biggest reason that I want to go with a cheaper pair is so that I can put the money saved towards a new 3wt rod.

That is my dilemma. I can afford the new Orvis waders, but I cannot afford both wader and fly rod. Thanks everyone. I love the site, and am learning a ton.
Old 10-16-2012, 01:27 PM

romanl is a glorious beacon of lightromanl is a glorious beacon of lightromanl is a glorious beacon of lightromanl is a glorious beacon of lightromanl is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Spend extra money on waders, or put money towards new rod?

i have no answer,
but all i have to add is i will be picking up a pair of new ORVIS waders myself very soon.
and i also just ordered a new rod 3wt (just like what you're looking for)
Redington CT 3wt 7'6" 4 pc. for $64 on theclymb.com

with deal like that on a rod maybe you can afford both?