The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree10Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2012, 10:11 AM

busbus is a splendid one to beholdbusbus is a splendid one to beholdbusbus is a splendid one to beholdbusbus is a splendid one to beholdbusbus is a splendid one to beholdbusbus is a splendid one to beholdbusbus is a splendid one to behold
Default Some basic retrieval questions (I hope I don't get smacked)

Hello,

Being a newbie, I am confusing myself on how to retrieve a fly. Keep in mind that I am a shoemaker in all types of fishing. My "experience" (if you can call it that) is almost exclusively putting an earthworm on a hook and casting it into a lake and hoping a fish finds it and eats it.

Now, I am completely confusing myself. I went out on Sunday afternoon. (Wow, I needed to dress warmer if I am going to wander around in the water whenever it is cold outside!) There is a small stream semi-close by I can get to that has some bluegill, small mouth bass, and some trout in it. It originates from the overflow of a dam. I started about 100 yards downstream from the overflow (since there were a few spincasters up there) and it is about two-and-a-half feet deep on one side and I don't really know how deep on the other side of the stream, but it seems like there are spots where it is at least five feet deep.

I was wading downstream in the shallow part and casting a little upstream on the deeper end.

First, is this what I should do? Should I wade downstream? Or doesn't it really matter? I thought it would be okay since it is fairly wide and deep enough that the fish couldn't really see me in this instance. I figured they were facing upstream waiting for food to come to them, so that is why I cast upstream.