The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree49Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-19-2012, 02:19 PM

rogue runner is on a distinguished road
Default gear quality ?

Hello all

Let me start by saying I appreciate all the people and valuable information on this sight. And that I am a beginner fly fisherman so there is allot about this sport I don't know or understand yet.

I was at my local fly shop the other day hanging out when the conversation turned to fly gear. Knowing that I was a beginner, I was asked what I had for fly rods.I told him I had an okuma SLV 8 weight rod with matching reel and a 20 year old Shakespeare sigma 5 weight with a ebay chi-tian reel. He says, thats so so beginner gear and that I'm going to want to upgrade. And starts naming off a bunch or high end rigs costing hundreds if not thousands of dollars that I would need.

Mind you I'm secure and content with my gear at this point in my fly fishing journey. Except that I wouldn't mind a short 2 or 3 weight for chasing brookies in the high mountains. And I have no problems with guys that have top of the line gear. For me its a matter of means and obligations. So thats not what this post is about.

But the way it was put to me sounded like you could never be really good with out high end Equipment.

It just seems like in todays society there is so much emphasis put on keeping up with the other guy or having the latest and greatest. Its hard to sort out what is really necessary and whats not.

Sooo, My question.
Do you guys feel that the quality of your gear has allot to do with your progression as fly fishermen and women? Or is it more important to master the equipment you do have and become proficient with it?