The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree16Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-31-2012, 06:04 PM

creekghost is on a distinguished road
Default Losing too many fish

I'm having trouble with losing a lot of trout after the hook up. I'm not a beginner, I've been fly fishing for trout for going on 8 years and I have only developed this problem within the past 4-6 months and it seems to be mostly when I'm nymphing. Here's how it usually goes:
I lay out my cast, throw an upstream mend, indicator goes down, I set the hook , and the fight is on for a few seconds, then the fish is gone I'm losing probably 60% of my fish like this.

I read an article from Gink and Gasoline saying that too much pressure on the line when the fish starts the head shaking is a common mistake and that does seem to be when most of them are lost. But I've also noticed that some of the fish I am managing to land are hooked in the lower lip or just barely hooked in the upper lip. Am I jumping the gun a bit on the hookset, too much slack on hookset, or have I developed some sort of bad habit when setting the hook? I'm up for any advice or input on this. THANKS!!
Old 12-31-2012, 06:32 PM
Banned

Location: Lake of the Woods/Rainy River Minnesota Canada border
Guest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Losing too many fish