The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2008, 06:57 PM

lerg2sc is on a distinguished road
Default Rookie Fly Fisherman Seeking Help

Good evening everyone!

At this point it is unfair to clasify myself as a fisherman, but I am seeking advice on how and where to start learning more.

I have had some basic casting instruction and have been fishing a dozen or so times without actually landing a fish. Surprisingly this is not as frustrating as I would think. I have started to really enjoy the sport and would really like to learn more.

Does anyone have recommended reading for an absolute beginner to get me started?
Old 01-13-2008, 08:00 PM

JagXJ684 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to JagXJ684
Default Re: Rookie Fly Fisherman Seeking Help

I'm a beginner as well, and I just read the Idiot's Guide to Fly Fishing. I thought it was very good, real easy read, just a couple of days, and covers a lot of information.

Also, read all the threads you can find on here, it's been a huge help for me!
Old 01-13-2008, 08:21 PM

FlyFisher77 is on a distinguished road

You can also find a wealth of information online. Some is opinion, some is fact, but regardless you will learn something new each time you try a suggested technique. Talk to your local fly shops, and try to hook up (pun intended) with as many seasoned fisherman as you can. The more you get out, the more you will learn.
Old 01-14-2008, 12:04 AM

ezamora is a jewel in the roughezamora is a jewel in the roughezamora is a jewel in the rough