The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By turbineblade
  • 3 Post By Guest1

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2013, 05:10 PM

pigpen is on a distinguished road
Default Noob ABC's...leader and tippet

First and foremost, thank you all for contributing to such an active forum. I am new to fly fishing and this seems like a wonderful community.

Smallmouth fishing is my life…I LOVE it! I recently put down the spinning reels and bought my first semi-serious fly gear. After browsing a few shops and getting some info, I settled on a TFO Pro Series II 9’ 6 wt fly rod and an Orvis Batenkill BBS III reel. These were in my noob price range with plans on expanding as I learn more. This will be primarily used for smallmouth.

Now I need to settle on line, leader, and tippet. The line will be floating WF (the extremely weight forward I believe, from some research). What leader and tippet would be best for smallmouth fishing? I want to throw poppers and wet flies. Really, I guess I’m not sure what I will be throwing until I get out there and try some things.

I have so many questions but figured this would be a good start.
Old 01-20-2013, 05:31 PM

williamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Noob ABC's...leader and tippet