The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree16Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2013, 03:56 PM

nick k is just really nicenick k is just really nicenick k is just really nicenick k is just really nice
Default Is ferrule wax necessary?

When Orvis fixed my rod and sent it back last year, they included a small containing of ferrule wax. I have never used ferrule wax before, and it has never seemed all that necessary or helpful to me.

Are you supposed to use it all the time, or just for long outings?
Old 02-14-2013, 04:25 PM

FrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Is ferrule wax necessary?

I use it sometimes, about as often as I turn clocks back each year.

Why Orvis sent the wax might depend on where the rod broke. If it broke at the ferrule, they might be suggesting that some wax would help seat the ferrules better than not using wax at all. If that's the case, a little every now and then is the procedure I see used most often. The wax is super sticky, but you should check the ferrules (male and female) for grit. The male part is easy, and you can run a Q-Tip inside the larger female ferrule ends. The smaller sections can be cleaned with a piece of rolled paper towel. That works for me, and something I do regardless of whether they've been waxed.
shotgunfly likes this.
Old 02-14-2013, 04:25 PM