The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree9Likes
  • 6 Post By williamhj
  • 2 Post By silver creek
  • 1 Post By ditz

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2013, 10:39 AM

busbus is a splendid one to beholdbusbus is a splendid one to beholdbusbus is a splendid one to beholdbusbus is a splendid one to beholdbusbus is a splendid one to beholdbusbus is a splendid one to beholdbusbus is a splendid one to beholdbusbus is a splendid one to behold
Default General tackle questions

Hello,

I feel like these are not intelligent questions but I am confused about these things since I am really new at this. I also tend to over think things.

1. How heavy is too heavy for a fly? By that, I mean how heavy is too heavy for, say, a 3wt vs a 5wt vs a 7wt? I have no way of knowing but it would seem to me that a 7wt will certainly be able to cast a fly that is too heavy for a 3wt. At least it seems it would be able to cast it better: more accurate and farther.

2. On the flip side, how light is too light, for the same reasons? Or is this, too, a moot point? Can a 3wt cast a lighter fly better than a 5wt? Than an 8wt?

3. I see reels that say they can be used for, say, 4-5-6wt or 6-7-8wt. I would assume this is only because of the weight of the reel? So it balances with the corresponding rod correctly? I would assume the weight of the line has nothing to do with a reel and everything to do with the rod--or am I completely wrong?