The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2013, 02:40 PM

sloth is on a distinguished road
Default How to select fly line?

Hello all,
I am new to fly fishing (6 months or so). I have noticed that the first 5 ft or so of the line that came with my rod/reel combo is starting to sink. This has made mending and overall drifting difficult. I need new line. I dont want to break the bank, being a college student im on a tight budget. I have a 9' 5/6 Ross rod and reel. 1st Q is what weight line to get? 2nd is color?Ii know I want WF, F, but other than that I have no idea. I fish in streams and rivers in central and eastern MT. Trout is what I seek. Are their any brands to stay away from. Cabelas/BPS has some for cheep compared to other brands but am i wasting money just to buy more next season?

Thanks for any info
Brent
Old 03-01-2013, 03:09 PM

moucheur2003 is a jewel in the roughmoucheur2003 is a jewel in the roughmoucheur2003 is a jewel in the roughmoucheur2003 is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: How to select fly line?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sloth View Post
Hello all,
I am new to fly fishing (6 months or so). I have noticed that the first 5 ft or so of the line that came with my rod/reel combo is starting to sink. This has made mending and overall drifting difficult. I need new line. I dont want to break the bank, being a college student im on a tight budget. I have a 9' 5/6 Ross rod and reel. 1st Q is what weight line to get? 2nd is color?Ii know I want WF, F, but other than that I have no idea. I fish in streams and rivers in central and eastern MT. Trout is what I seek. Are their any brands to stay away from. Cabelas/BPS has some for cheep compared to other brands but am i wasting money just to buy more next season?