The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2013, 09:54 PM

mnbassfisher is on a distinguished road
Default Loop to Loop (Fly Line to Leader)

I am new to the fly fishing sport. I have a 5wt and a 3wt. I put Rio Mainstream on them both (WF5F and DT3F) and neither of them had a loop at the end of the fly line. I was told that's the easiest way to change and connect leaders so the guys at my local fly shop whipped a loop on the end of my fly line for me. If the fly line didn't have a loop it sounded like this was my only option unless I had some tools (which I don't). I'm curious as to what the appropriate length of the added mono loop should be. They nail knotted on some amnesia line and then ended it with a perfection loop. One of those is 2-3" and the other one is closer to 10-12". The longer one doesn't seem to cast well on my 3wt, so what are your preferences??
Old 03-03-2013, 10:09 PM

aggieoutlaw will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Loop to Loop (Fly Line to Leader)

Just nail knot the leader directly to the fly line and cut both tails very short and at a tapered angle. It's much more streamlined and allows the junction to pass through the guides smoothly. I don't like loop-to-loop connections and have never lost a fish (or an underwater log for that matter) to a nail knot.
Old 03-03-2013, 10:24 PM

hi tide is on a distinguished road

Here's some videos to help.

Hope this helps!
rubberguy likes this.
Old 03-03-2013, 10:25 PM

moucheur2003 is a jewel in the roughmoucheur2003 is a jewel in the roughmoucheur2003 is a jewel in the roughmoucheur2003 is a jewel in the rough