The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2008, 03:35 PM

indieangler is on a distinguished road
Default Loop Fly Rods - 8'2" #2?

I'm an American citizen living over in the UK. I recently got my year performance bonus and plan on blowing some of it on some new fly fishing gear. I currently own several mid-range, lower end Sage and G. Loomis rods, but nothing outside of the $250-$300 price range. I get to fish much less since I live over here now. I'm still fairly new to fly fishing in general, maybe almost considered an intermediate fisher.

I'm considering picking up a Loop Opti Creek 8'2" #2 with runs about £350 (almost $700 USD) over here in the UK and a nice Hardy #2 reel to match. Loop is actually a Swedish brand I believe, but I've never touched any of their rods.

I was wondering if anyone had ever fished this rod, or any of the Loop Opti rod series and had any advice on whether it's worth the money or off I'm better off elsewhere. They look stunningly beautiful in the catalogs. Secondly, I'm wondering how practical an 8'2" #2 rod is really going to be. I enjoy fishing lighter rods and never have a desire to reservoir fish. I prefer medium sized streams and like a good fight. I'm just wondering if this rod actually might be too light to handle medium sized trout streams or not. I'm just trying to justify spending this money on the rod really, but any advice on this greatly appreciated.
Old 01-22-2008, 03:50 PM

bonefish41 will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Loop Fly Rods - 8'2" #2?