The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree13Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2013, 02:19 PM

baskfisher is on a distinguished road
Default First time buy and fly fisher! With a ?

hey guys and gals i am new to this sight and i wanted to stop and say hello and tell you all that your information has been helpful. With that said, I am needing more help from you.

I dont have any fly fishing gear what so ever. So my question to you guys is: If you had $200-$250 to get started fly fishing for trout, what would you buy?

Thanks in advance
Old 03-08-2013, 03:11 PM

baseman1 is just really nicebaseman1 is just really nicebaseman1 is just really nicebaseman1 is just really nice
Default Re: First time buy and fly fisher! With a ?

Hi Bask,
Welcome. There will be some questions coming your way. Where will you be fishing and what type of flies will you be using just to start?

“Be patient and calm – for no one can catch fish in anger.” – Herbert Hoover
Old 03-08-2013, 03:17 PM

jaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond repute

Hi Bask,

Welcome to the forum, good to have you aboard. I'd encourage you to use the search feature as I'm sure there are many discussions along these same lines. If you can fill out your profile and put your location in, you'll likely get some info from folks from your general region and or who have fished where you are.

This is worth your time to read though: