The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree5Likes
  • 2 Post By theboz
  • 2 Post By Rip Tide
  • 1 Post By thechroniclesofmasi

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-13-2013, 06:52 PM

thechroniclesofmasi is on a distinguished road
Arrow How would you get your Mangrove Muddler deeper?

Hi All,

So I am new to the sport, but not new to fishing. I have been catching red fish for ever and know that the strike zone is just above the grass.

So I did my research and found some good patterns for reds however they all pretty much float. I am using a combination of leader material from Hard nylon to Fluro (at least the last two tippets), but nothing will make them go under more.

So my question is: What methods are out there to get my flies between 1-3 feet below the surface?

All of the patterns are between #4 - 2/0.

I know about intermediate sinking lines but that will just make the line sink in such shallow water and the fly will be on the surface still.

Splitshot?

Do I need to grease the leader?

Looking forward to hearing from you all!

Thanks
Old 03-13-2013, 11:09 PM

pkins44 will become famous soon enoughpkins44 will become famous soon enough
Default Re: How would you get your Mangrove Muddler deeper?

I'm not sure if this helps. But if you tie up your own flies and are looking for the same fly to hit different depths I tie some assorted diameters of lead wire just over the base layer of thread. Then I tie the the fly as I normally would. This is the method I use for fishing my home river that runs from 2-5' deep. I hope this helps and I know this is just one method. But there is always more than one way to skin a cat. Hope this helps.

http://www.dupageriverflyfishing.com
Old 03-14-2013, 12:07 AM