The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By plecain

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2013, 09:01 AM

spinsheet is on a distinguished road
Default Switching reel to left handed

I just bought my first fly rod and as I am completely new to this I have a question. I'm left handed and as such I cast with my left hand. I imagine that I need to switch the reel to left handed mode. I followed the directions in the manual and that seemed to work, with one exception. Do I now need to pull all of the line off of the reel and rewind it so that it now comes off of the bottom of the reel? If so (and I imagine that it is), what is the best way of doing this? If I just start pulling line off of the reel I'm going to have a serious mess. Any thoughts or ideas?
Old 03-24-2013, 09:13 AM

plecain is just really niceplecain is just really niceplecain is just really niceplecain is just really niceplecain is just really nice
Default Re: Switching reel to left handed

Yes, reverse it.

Just unwind it by wrapping the line around something large like a cardboard box.

If you have another reel, use that.
brucerducer likes this.
Old 03-24-2013, 11:56 AM

sandfly is a splendid one to beholdsandfly is a splendid one to beholdsandfly is a splendid one to beholdsandfly is a splendid one to beholdsandfly is a splendid one to beholdsandfly is a splendid one to beholdsandfly is a splendid one to behold

do you feel comfortable reeling left hand and switching to cast. you should use whatever hand feels comfortable to you.
N.J.B.B.A. #2215

I did not escape.....they gave me a day pass!
from the outer edge of nowhere
fly tying and fishing Gillie..
Old 03-24-2013, 12:42 PM

cw76 has a spectacular aura aboutcw76 has a spectacular aura about