The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree7Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2013, 07:20 PM

spinsheet is on a distinguished road
Default Drag on a fly reel

OK, I am totally new to fly fishing so please forgive this question. I'm a bit confused about how drag works on a fly reel. I know from my spinning reels and baitcasters how it works as the reel will release line even when reeling in depending on how the drag is set. I'm not seeing this with a fly reel though. If you are reeling it in, no matter how the drag is set it will not release line. The only way that I can see the drag working is if you are simply not holding the crank (handle?). The crank and reel are locked in at 1:1 so no matter what that stays the same.

It's almost like my old Ambassadeur 5000C, if you want to give the fish some line you simply crank in reverse. Am I missing something regarding drag on a fly reel?
Old 03-24-2013, 07:41 PM

bigfishcatcher is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Drag on a fly reel

When a fish pulls hard enough to pull drag, you just let go of the reel and let the fish pull line out.
Hardyreels likes this.
Old 03-24-2013, 07:41 PM

trout champ will become famous soon enough

I'll use Sage reels as an example.

Their reel drag knobs are numbered 1-10. Setting 1 is pretty much letting the fish have line at his will. Setting 10 will stop the fish or snap your tippet because the drag stops the reel from spinning, or almost stops it.

There is also a click and pawl style reel. Same principals, but there is not a drag to engage. The reels lightest setting is like free spooling and the tightest setting is still letting line from the reel, no stopping power like a disc drag reel. People use their hand as their drag called palming the reel.