The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree6Likes
  • 4 Post By len s
  • 1 Post By williamhj
  • 1 Post By len s

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2013, 09:27 AM

len s is on a distinguished road
Default First Trip For My Son and I

After starting this great adventure,(addiction, disease, syndrome)called fly fishing at my sons request last year we finally got to go trout fishing. My son and I went to the Driftless area of SW Wisconsin. Another member here, Len Harris recommended the Driftless Angler flys hop in Viroqua for a guide, so to prove wisdom sometimes comes with age, I called and hired a guide. I have never done so before, I always do it myself when conventional fishing, but there is a world of difference between reading a map and looking at your graph on the boat and trying to read trout streams, casting, and fly selection. So our guide was Pete Cozad who has fished everywhere. Well Pete is also an exceptional teacher and at my request at the time of booking he spent the most time with my son. I missed a couple right at the beginning on a dry, then after we moved my son got a couple on nymphs . While the numbers are not impressive the experience and education was. The next day on our own w managed to dig a brown out of a deep hole with a Turkey Leech that I tied. Can't wait to get back. Oh and talk about spoiled or lucky,my son was guided to his first trout by a guy who fished all over the world but also had the moment captured by a professional photographer. Before Pete became a full time guide he was a professional photographer. When Pete left me to my own devices, (tangles, tree and rock fish and the like) I gave him my camera and asked him to take a picture if my son caught a fish. When I figure out this whole get the pics off the c