The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree19Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-02-2013, 10:31 AM

awkwardsportsman is on a distinguished road
Default Relationship Advice

I just got myself into a moral predicament and am unsure what to do. As some of you know, I am new to the world of flyfishing. My personal set up is a Ross Essence Elite package, which has the Ross Flyrise reel. My girlfriend has also been wanting to get into fly fishing, so for her birthday I decided that I would set her up with some gear. I just hopped on Allen's website and saw the great deal they had on the Compass rod bundle. Naturally I put it in my cart as I have been eye balling this rod for my girlfriend anyway. Of course every fly rod needs a reel, so I put the Trout II (size 2) in my cart as well.

Here is the problem: I have been looking at the Trout II reel for my own setup, and just hang on to the Flyrise as a back up. So now I'm thinking I could throw the Flyrise on my girlfriends rod and in turn put the Trout II on my rod. Kinda like killing 2 birds with one stone, but I kind of sort of maybe just a little bit in the slightest way feel guilty about doing that. What would you do? Keep in mind I will probably fish twice as much as her
Old 04-02-2013, 10:45 AM

FrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Relationship Advice