The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/general-discussion/)
-   -   Info for a NEWBY (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/general-discussion/315548-info-newby.html)

jwhuntman 04-03-2013 08:23 AM

Info for a NEWBY

I am new to the fly fishing world after obtaining a H-I bamboo fly rod. I bought one of the ORVIS reels that was just on sale and fad it shipped with backing and line. I live in N. FL. and will use it for bass fishing and what ever else. Not to sound stupid but I am on this subject. My line has a loop in the end, how do you attach the leader and tippet? Any past forums I should look at? I don't see a search area on here? Also what do others on here use for bass and crappie. The rod is a 9' H-I spinner 6wt. Line is ORVIS bass line in 6wt. Thanks Jack

mrfzx 04-03-2013 08:28 AM

Re: Info for a NEWBY

Many premade leaders come with a looped end, and loop to loop is easy enough. If you don't get leaders with loops, I tie a lefty no-slip loop on the leader and then go loop to loop. A "perfection loop" is good too. search on Youtube, and you will find many videos on how to tie the loops.

There is a search engine on the site. Look on the blue-ish bar that runs the width of the page just under the header. Towards the right side, click on "search".

jwhuntman 04-03-2013 08:35 AM

OK I see the search. Looked on you-tube and all I saw was tying a nail-knot. Will look further. Thanks.

rockriver 04-03-2013 09:01 AM

---------- Post added at 10:01 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:59 AM ----------

Tie with the hook and use the loop to loop to connect.

ditz 04-03-2013 11:08 AM

I personally use a double surgeons loop in the butt. It is easy to tie as well. I am a firm believer in KISS.