The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2010, 07:24 PM

fishinfrenzy is on a distinguished road
Default Dacron backing...

I apologize for how stupid this question is but I am very new to fly fishing. I was spooling up a new reel with Dacron backing and it seems to be "sticky" in a way. Also, when I took off the backing from another reel it seemed to leave a sticky residue on the spool. What is the point of this stickiness? Is it meant to serve an actual function or is it just how dacron is? I have used many braided lines for bass fishing that are not sticky at all. Why aren't these types of lines used for fly fishing? Is it mainly because Dacron is just so much cheaper?
Old 07-26-2010, 07:53 PM

ctious is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Dacron backing...

not sure what kind of line u got... but i have never had any sticky dacron.....
Old 07-26-2010, 11:13 PM

MoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond repute

Never dealt with sticky dacron either.

MP
Old 07-27-2010, 12:10 AM
Administrator