The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2013, 07:18 PM

querorz is on a distinguished road
Default Deep waters?

Hi guys,

I am a total beginner and i have never caught a fish with fly fishing. But i guess i know the problem. The waters i try to flyfish are either lakes or deep rivers. So the depth is not less than 4-5 feets and in these waters you can never see the fish on the surface. They are always at least a couple feet below the water. What should i do? I don't think the fish will ever come up to get the fly.

Should i use only nymphs in these waters to get my fly down in deep water? In my country it is nearly impossible to do fly fishing that i see in your videos. So i dunno what to do. I am losing my trust to fly fishing because it seems impossible for me to be sucessful with it here. Help guys, help .

Ty. Fatih
Old 04-12-2013, 07:55 PM

MoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Deep waters?

Rivers:
You can drift nymphs under an indicator.

You can swing streamers or soft hackled wet flies with a sink tip line.

Lakes:
You can fish with streamers with a full sinking line.

You can hang a nymph under an indicator. If the water is more than 10 feet, you can use a slip indicator, so there is not any interference with the indicator and the rod tip top.

Dennis