The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2013, 08:30 PM

michaeldnparkin is on a distinguished road
Default New to fly fishing

Hi all,

Not sure if this is the right area to post this, but I'm new to fly fishing and was hoping to pick some of your brains. I have always wanted to get into fly fishing, but I've always been a little intimidated by the sport. However, I have an opportunity to purchase what I think is a really nice rod and reel to get started. My friends dad won a Sage VXP 9' 6WT and a Sage 4250 reel, that he's willing to sell me for $250.00 total. I think it's a really good deal, but wanted to get opinions. Also if you could give me some insight into some gear that I need to start with and gear that I must have, that would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Mike
Old 05-02-2013, 08:55 PM

nick k is just really nicenick k is just really nicenick k is just really nicenick k is just really nice
Default Re: New to fly fishing

Let me be the does to ask the obvious:

What are you fishing for?
How big are the fish you're fishing for?
What type of water will you be fishing in?
What part of the country are you in?
What size flies will you be using?
What types of flies will you be using?
How often do you plan on fishing?
What gear, if any, do you currently have?
Old 05-02-2013, 09:12 PM