The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2013, 05:22 PM

alt1001 is on a distinguished road
Default New here and I have a question....!

I am fairly new to fly fishing and I have had my share of successes but I was a little puzzled today. I live near some very good Eastern US trout streams and being a college student, I try to get out every day I can in between work. I have seen some very good hatches so far this year and have had a lot of luck with some Para Adams, Duns, Cahills, etc. This morning I was nymphing, and although I had absolutely no surface action, the fish were crushing my strike indicator but it seemed that any dry fly I tried (especially ones I have had great success with on that stream) didn't get any action. I have never seen fish hit my indicator in the volume like they did today but not be feeding on the surface? What is the reason? Was it just curiosity? If not, any suggestions on flies? Thanks in advance.
Old 05-13-2013, 05:30 PM
Administrator

Hardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Yahoo to Hardyreels Send a message via Skype™ to Hardyreels
Default Re: New here and I have a question....!

Hi,

Welcome to the forum.

Are these freshly stocked trout?
yonder likes this.

Life On The Line - Alaska Fishing with Ard

The Alaska Fishing & Outdoors Blog;