The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree8Likes
  • 1 Post By nickj
  • 2 Post By nickj
  • 2 Post By Hardyreels
  • 2 Post By williamhj
  • 1 Post By heronwheels

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-07-2013, 04:20 PM

flyboy1 is on a distinguished road
Default Morning Flies

I'm pretty inexperienced in selecting flies for trout. I've fished the Rogue here in Rockford, Michigan a few times now and haven't seen to many fish rise to my flies. I tend to fish mornings. What are some of the flies you first try at early morning? I've tried #12-#18 dry flies (Im' not good with names yet). I have no experience in wet fly fishing or nymphing, so any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Old 06-07-2013, 04:32 PM

nickj is a jewel in the roughnickj is a jewel in the roughnickj is a jewel in the roughnickj is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: Morning Flies

Are you fishing one or two? I'm also a morning fisherman when I can be. Depending on the variables- weather/water temp/time of year/ etc, etc... I have a couple ~ combos that are very effective. Elk hair caddis with a #20 Bead Head Hare's Ear dropper, Elk Hair Caddis with a red #20 Zebra Midge dropper, BWO with a #20 -24 RS2 dropper. Usually the action is on the droppers, unless I get a good BWO hatch going on..
flyboy1 likes this.
Old 06-07-2013, 04:40 PM

I'm sorry, I'm not very good with names yet. Are those droppers you mentioned Dry flies as well or wet flies/nymphs? are you running to droppers two feet behind the leading fly?
Old 06-07-2013, 04:44 PM

nickj is a jewel in the roughnickj is a jewel in the roughnickj is a jewel in the roughnickj is a jewel in the rough