The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree9Likes
  • 1 Post By runningfish
  • 2 Post By caseywise
  • 1 Post By MoscaPescador
  • 1 Post By kylebass91
  • 1 Post By kevin2
  • 1 Post By turbineblade
  • 1 Post By ditz
  • 1 Post By dabluz

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2013, 09:26 PM

flyboy1 is on a distinguished road
Default Rod/Reel Setup Help

I'm sure this isn't the first thread like this...but I'm looking for some help/advice. I'm a college student on a budget. I"ve just been hooked onto fly fishing. I bought a pretty cheap setup earlier this year to try it out, but am looking for something nicer. I would like to throw #6 streamers all the way to #20 dry flies. I've got my heart pretty set on a Hardy Ultralite DD reel. Ideally I would use this for small browns and steelhead. Can I get by with a 7wt, or is that to heavy for a #20 dry fly. Also what rods would you recommend. Would like to keep it under $250 if possible. If I had to buckle down for two rods, would a 4wt and a 7wt be my best options. Again, just looking for steelhead and trout.
Old 06-11-2013, 11:27 PM

runningfish is a glorious beacon of lightrunningfish is a glorious beacon of lightrunningfish is a glorious beacon of lightrunningfish is a glorious beacon of lightrunningfish is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Rod/Reel Setup Help

If you don't mind Chinese or Korean made ones, you can check the Orvis Clearwater or the Redington rods. I only have the Redington Predator 6wt so I can't comment on the rest of the line up. But I tried and owned several Orvis rods from the clearwater to the Helios. The Orvis Clearwater rods are very nice and well made except for the cork handle.
flyboy1 likes this.
Old 06-11-2013, 11:43 PM