The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree10Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2013, 01:55 PM

zarick is on a distinguished road
Default new Gear help

So.. I have been to several fly shops. I am totally new to this sport and want to buy a set up without breaking the bank. I live in the pacific northwest.
The two fly shops I went to (also went to many non fly shop big store) had differing opinions.. both older guys who had fished many years.
First recommended a windston passport 9' 5wt with echo ion reel with line and backing for a total for $310 as a great starter setup up. Felt is was a good rod that I would use forever.

The second shop recommended a much cheaper rig an echo solo combo for $170. This included a 9' 6wt echo solo rod, echo solo reel, line and backing.

First shop felt the echo solo was a bit lower end. Second shop felt the echo solo was an excellent first rod, would do everything I needed.

First shop felt the winston was a far better rod and would cast better and do more.

Second shop felt the echo solo reel was a weak point, but that didn't matter for trout and small mouth (most of what I fish) and recommended I stick with it until I got good enough to care about the reel quality.

So..
the price diff is pretty severe.. I need advice.
Old 06-29-2013, 02:03 PM
Administrator

mcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: new Gear help